Mayor and City Council

Message from the Mayor:
On behalf of the Hamburg City Council, City staff, and most importantly, our residents, I would like to welcome you to the City of Hamburg Iowa.  Hamburg is our hometown filled with family, friends, neighbors and caring businesses.   It is a wonderful place to live, work, and raise families.  We are proud of our residents, and businesses and the sense of community and volunteerism that is strong in our everyday life in Hamburg.

Please stop by and visit our hometown.

Mayor, City of Hamburg Iowa

Hamburg Iowa City Hall

City Government

The City Mayor and Council are the legislative officials of the city and are elected at large and serve four-year terms. The Mayor and Council serve as volunteers and do not receive compensation for their service.

As the legislative body of the City, the Mayor and Council establishes the City’s financial policies, tax levy, and adopts the City’s annual budget.  The Council makes policy decisions which guide the City’s operations and enacts local laws and ordinances.

Regular meetings of the Council are held the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the City Hall. All meetings are open to the public.

City Mayor:
Cathy Crain

Kent Benefiel
Ray Hendrickson
Russell Stockstell
Jimmie Randolph
Wille Thorp